How to use the map
The map is courtesy of Google and the overlays showing traffic data are provided by one.network
The first time you visit the Roads page you will be asked to accept the recommended settings or set your own preferences for the cookie for the one.network map overlays.
The options are perfectly safe.
Your second and subsequent visits to the page will look like this ~
- You can close the “What’s on this map” window by clicking on the “X” in its top right hand corner.
- It can be reopened by clicking on the top icon in the left hand ribbon.
- If you customise the map any changes will only last for your current session.
- Roadworks and planned roadworks use standard symbols and the impact of the works on traffic flow is indicated by their colour ~
Green (low), amber and red (high).
- Incidents will always appear in a red triangle.
- Live traffic is colour coded on the road in green (fast), orange, red and dark red (slow).
- Date range
This is set to twelve months to provide a long term view of works planned in the area.
You can change the range by clicking on the date in the box at the top right of the map and selecting from the drop down list.
Any changes to the date range will only last for your current session.
When selecting future roadworks you will be asked to create an account, which is free and secure.
- You can view any location in England, Scotland and Wales by entering a place name in “Search location” in the box at the top right of the map and selecting from the drop down list.
- Click and drag to move the map.
- Zoom in or out by clicking on the plus and minus icons at the bottom right of the map.
As you zoom out less data will be displayed on the map.
- To view the details of any icon just click on it.
When you’ve finished click the “X” in the top right hand corner of the pop up box.
- To return to the original map click the “Reload map” button at the bottom of the page.
If you have zoomed out at any location the default map will load correctly when you click this button.
However if you have zoomed in then when you reload the map it will also be zoomed in. You can overcome this by clicking the minus icon until the map shows the original area.